Roky Erickson ‘Throbblehead’

Here is my newest piece of music memorabilia…known to my wife as ‘useless stuff my husband spent money on‘…the Roky Erickson Throbblehead. It is my first purchase from Aggronautix, a company that has a nice slice of the bobble head market catering to the old school punk set. The company has made Throbbleheads of Wendy O. Williams, Milo from the Descendants, the Dwarves, Keith Morris, a few GG Allin and others. Most are limited to 1000 signed and numbered pieces (Wendy O is 2000). When I saw Roky I had to get me one. The price is right at $19.95, the wife can’t be too pissed at only twenty bucks…

The quality is very good, it is one sturdy piece of resin. I am very happy with this unique toy for the music nut. I will be checking for the next ‘must have’ from Aggonautix…a Rollins from Black Flag would be nice or Greg Ginn in full teeth bared grimace…how about a Gibby Haynes…or a Captain Beefheart…or John Doe and Exene…or Bo Diddley…sigh.

Getting licensing agreements to produce these things must be a big headache, so I guess I shouldn’t hold my breath waiting for a Jello Biafra or Kim Deal or D. Boon or Darby Crash or Gene and Dene Ween…OH! How about authors?? A Charles Bukowski or Tom Robbins or Kurt Vonnegut…

Click over to the Aggronautix website and snag something before they are all gone. Then you will only find them on eBay for double the price.

About santasangreredux

Just a guy with a love of music, family and relaxing with a book.

Posted on July 21, 2011, in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment